News:

Welcome to the Home Network Guy forum!

Main Menu

Recent posts

Proposed Network Designs / First OPNsense Network Design
Last post by MilkFloat - November 25, 2023, 06:12:06 PM
Hello,

I have been following your videos on youtube and I think they are great.

But I do have some networking questions as I am new to this.

Currently I am setting up the following:

<<Standard DSL Modem>> --------<<Mini PC>> ----------<<Dumb OpenWRT Router>>

I have proxmox with Opnsense running on the mini pc. However, I cant get my dumb openwrt router to connect. I can ping the device but the GUI wont load. It loads fine on my normal PC though.

So my mini PC is on 192.168.1.157 for proxmox and 1.160 for opnsense. My dumb router has been on the 192.168.1.x as well as the 10.10.x.x subnets but either wont connect to proxmox.

My dumb router is connected via a USB to Ethernet adapter while the modem is connected to the built in Ethernet.

Do I need a switch for this set up? I would have thought I wouldn't but since the proxmox is on static IP, is that causing the issue as to why the dumb router inst connecting?
Proposed Network Designs / Re: Proposed Simple Multi-VLAN...
Last post by Raymond - November 22, 2023, 08:31:31 PM
I don't know where the jpg file went!!
Proposed Network Designs / Proposed Simple Multi-VLAN Net...
Last post by Raymond - November 22, 2023, 08:28:50 PM
My proposed home Network is based upon my understanding after watching "Home Network Guy's" YouTube video for design of BASIC Home Networks for Beginners.

Since I don't know where this may, eventually, lead me, I show a fourth VLAN for "future," which may (or may not ever) be needed.

The included jpg file is my freehand (with software app assistance) attempt to sketch my proposed design. Some equipment in the design shows possible options to consider, especially the mini OPNSense firewall and the managed PoE switch.

Thanks, in advance, for any/all criticisms/comments or alternatives.

Raymond